What would you do if you knew today was your last…

I was thinking about topics for my impromptu speech competition on my way to work today and I remembered this ever favourite topic: What would you do if you knew today was your last?

Seriously, do people realise the depth of this question when they ask it? (I remember my fellow contestant in primary school getting it as a topic, when I was barely even 12 years old!)

Don’t bother about saying how you would tell everyone that you love them, would you have the strength to face them without breaking down?

After so much of morbid thinking, which I have been doing a lot lately – I decided to drop it and got on to Facebook. Then, I saw my bestie’s status update wishing my late friend Thasia. It would have been her 21st birthday today.

It’s crazy, I look around me and I find my beautiful, charming friends facing all kinds of strange diseases. Is something going wrong somewhere or was I plain ignorant all this while?

Life is short. Don’t expect anything. Whether you like it or not, GOD ALMIGHTY has a bigger plans than your wildest dreams for the next ten years.

So back to the question, what would you do if you knew today was your last?

I’d cry, alot. I’d regret for things that I haven’t done. I’d wish for more time.

I’d then probably read back all my diaries, cherish every ups and downs I’ve had and I’ll probably burn up my diaries afterwards. (I don’t want my mom reading them up after I’m gone!)

And I would thank god, for letting me know I was heading towards the end of my life, without being “surprised” about it. Look at the bright side, atleast I know (though some people rather not).

Then I would take a flight to Nepal, and go ahead with my bungee jumping plans. 🙂

Sometimes I feel our whole life have been bugged down by commitments and responsibility of doing the “right thing”, that only the threat of death could bring us out of it.

P/S: Click here to read an interesting story I found about turning your life around when you’re almost “pronounced” dead.

Comments
One Response to “What would you do if you knew today was your last…”
  1. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Yes, I’ve chosen to start another blog, visit it: http://digitaldudette.blogspot.com/ Will appreciate all feedback on the new blog!
