NIKE We Run KL (10.10.2010)

Got up as early as 5 am, I couldn’t even sleep that night wondering if I’m gonna make that 5 km run.

I convinced my friends to join, one lazy bum couldn’t get herself up so she skipped – thinking I’m gonna get back to zzzzzzz on that sunday morning as well.

So the rest of us, made our way to KLCC by LRT – I didn’t wanna bring my car and get stuck with the jam and pay a hefty parking fee.

Honestly, I didn’t know the way to the race start but how am I to get lost when almost half of the train was filled with bright lime green Nike tshirts (I was hoping to get a nicer tshirt though) cramming their way – just follow the crowd honey!

Freshhh before the run

Image from Nike My’s Twitter

There were more 10km runners than 5km runners and that was kinda surprising! And the crowd turn up was good (almost 6,000 runners wei!), never knew so many peepz in kl were into marathons.

Through out the marathon, a lot of us walked instead of actually running. Even one of the DJs along the booth were teasing that it was supposed to be a run, not a walk. Haha, but I couldn’t help it – I jogged around, walked when I got huffy puffy and ran a little when I naik semangat.

Drinks along the race was bit scarce. By time I hit 1.5 km, all the 100 PLUS/water were “outta stock” so we had to make our way till the other “pit stop” to get some water down our throat.

I finished the race in 54 mins 25 secs – an average off 11 mins/hour. A respectable 5 km run time in 30 mins *cries*. Looks like I’ve gotta improve my timing by a whole 50%!!!

Finishing line

Love this shot off myself with Ash =D

Anyways, you can check your timing if you’ve joined by heading to Nike Marathon Results by simply typing your full name or your participation number if you remember.

I was hoping for a cert, a goodie bag but all we got was a Nike Doll, a concert line up and lots of bananas. I had no idea that some runners didn’t even get bananas cause the staff there kept giving out 2 bananas/person even though I only wanted on, hence the pic below…

But I did get a surprisingly warm email from Kaki Lari after the race.. It’s as per below:

Hi there,
 


Hope you had a good run at the Nike City 10K last week!

I got your email from a running reminder alert, and wanted to invite you to join a Facebook page for runners – Kaki Lari runners

I hope you’ll join it as we share a similar interest.

I thought it’d be fun to have a page where runners and walkers can share updates on running events, plus comment on them.

Oh, I wrote a note on the Nike City 10K.
Do share your comments and what YOU thought of the race!

Have a great weekend, I’ll be posting on the Mizuno Wave run soon!

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Kaki-Lari-runners/168864493129366
It was nice to receive a follow-up email, so that running becomes a part of my lifestyle – not simply a yearly event to fulfill my resolution. 

This guy has set up a group on Facebook and I was even happier to notice that they are other newbies like me too (during the marathon, most of them looked like pros – i was soooooo outta place).

He’s written a report about the event, pretty comprehensive – Have a read here.

Next up is the MALAKOFF RUN. Details as per below:

Date: 19.12.10 (Sunday)

Venue: Bukit Kiara Equestrian Club

Time: 7 am

Distance: 7 km & 12 km.

Entry Fees for Public: RM 25 (7 km) & RM 50 (12 km).

What’s holding me back from registering for this is that it’s got a qualifying time. 7 km race for women is 55 mins. I really don’t know if I can make it.. Sobs..

Here’s the link if you’re interested: MALAKOFF Run Website.

 

Comments
3 Responses to “NIKE We Run KL (10.10.2010)”
  1. shaney89 says:

    congratz ….i registered for thez but didnt go, the shirt colour can coz me go blind weyy! dam striking and its hanging in my cupboard nw!…..guess i must get myself to run again!!…m hooked up with my books most of de time!! phewww………..

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Though I was bit too late to sign up for that, I did manage to go for the Nike – We Run KL 5km Marathon on 10.10.10. An auspicious day to be the start of a new lifestyle eh? (Read about my experience in the marathon here.) […]

  2. […] Finished a 5 KM marathon. Yes, I […]



Leave a Reply

  • Yes, I’ve chosen to start another blog, visit it: http://digitaldudette.blogspot.com/ Will appreciate all feedback on the new blog!
